The Value of Half-Baked Ideas

Once, a friend on facebook took issue with me and chided me severely for an article that I had posted. I didn’t agree with everything that the article claimed, but I had found it an enjoyable and thought-provoking read. My friend was upset that I had posted the article because A – some of the things it said were false, and B – he felt that I was communicating support for these untruths by posting them, and thereby leading to the spread of erroneous ideas.

This point of view is understandable, but my friend didn’t understand how I approach life and ideas. Life is something to be experienced, and ideas are something to wrestle with. Naturally, if one is seeking the truth, it is a good habit to examine facts carefully before accepting them as “truth” or “close to truth” and integrating it into the way one views the world.

I do not expect my friends to read the articles I share online, and then accept them as truth simply because a person they know (me) posted it! I would be firmly opposed to such a thing. People should weigh ideas carefully before they accept them, and should do their own research and read up on the opposing viewpoint. Therefore, I don’t share an article in order to lend it credence! I share an article if I think it would be enjoyable, amusing, or thought-provoking. Those are the three reactions that I aim for.

Similarly, when I post thoughts on my blog, it’s not because I have accepted those thoughts as “truth” and am ready to defend them. It’s because sometimes I find my thoughts interesting, amusing, or fun to think about.

Some ideas and mental pictures are thought-provoking. They are fun and inviting; they tease your brain and motivate you to think, to ponder, to research, and to explore life and figure out another aspect of reality. And that’s an adventure I love to have.

I see the invitation to explore the truth as a good thing. Therefore, any ideas that lead me to think about and mentally explore truth are *helpful* ideas, even if they are not true ideas. And therefore they are worth passing along and sharing, so that more people can be invited to mentally explore different ideas and concepts.

Leave a Reply

